Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2006 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 709 Ratings for the 2004 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

2007 TL Great car

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great, silent ride, no major issues."

Cons: "100,000 Maintenance is expensive almost $2200"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My second TL and both were great cars. Maintained the service as recommended and had no major issues. Driven in the snow often and no issues. Well rounded car great value and quality."

Outstanding reliability

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable."

Cons: "Mileage could have been better it averaged 27 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Had absolutely minimal expense for repairs, other than tires, brakes and oil changes, which are routine. It cost me virtually nothing to maintain. It's still running like new."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent, excellent car.

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of the best cars that I have ever purchased."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very reliable and fun daily driver

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sporty exterior, very reliable, good mpg"

Cons: "Too easy to speed in this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought a 2006 Acura TL A-Spec to replace my wife's problematic 2003 Jeep Liberty. After getting used to driving a car, we are both very happy with the TL. It has been rock solid in reliability from buying it with 72k miles up to the current 115k miles. Biggest complaints: - The steering doesn't offer very positive feedback. - Our car does not have navigation, and the dash looks like its from a car built in the '90s. - The clamp style tilt column is cheap compared to the spring loaded GM style tilt mechanism. - Its easy to go well over the speed limit because it drives so smooth and quiet. Overall I am very happy with this car. We were looking for a sporty but practical and reliable daily driver with good mpg (she gets around 26-28 daily driving) and this car met all requirements."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great blend of luxury, sport & comfort

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful, sleek, comfort"

Cons: "Only thing is turning radius; small deal tho"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. Have owned for 11 years (now my wife has it). Always proud to drive it (black on black, super sharp) and lots of positive feedback from friends."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very Nice Ride

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior Power and Cosmetics"

Cons: "Hard to mod and expensive to fix."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second acura tl I've owned and I love it. The styling and mechanics are flawless. Plenty of power for all types of drivers the only downfall is how expensive and difficult it is to modify. And blue book value does not show truly how nice these are"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not so great

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good look, nice interior, great sound system"

Cons: "Not great gas mileage, bad in snow, disappointing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased the car after doing some extensive reviews. I found the car at the right price and right mileage. I had my mechanic go over the car before purchasing and it passed. Since I've purchased it 5 years ago, I've had way more problems than I have ever anticipated. The car had a recall on the power steering hose which when leaking can cause your car to catch on fire. The radiator pipe attachment is also a tiny cheap piece of plastic that can easily break off. Any savings I had by doing a long search was overshadowed by the repairs. I live in the north and the car does not handle well in the snow. I've had other sedans that with good all season tires they can handle the snow. This car can not. Any little bit of snow and you are stuck in the all seasons. The TL requires pretty expensive snow tires to go anywhere."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love my Acura TL.

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable,and very nice looking car"

Cons: "Some road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this car since it is new. I am a female and the only driver. The car is garaged and is in mint condition. It has side molding,wheel locks and everything is power."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

good value;nice driving car

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great price for a quality car"

Cons: "could use more power and firmer suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the controls are well placed and easy to decipher;the car drives smoothly and handles bumps and potholes nicely. could use a bit more power for acceleration and could have a slightly firmer suspension for curves. the outside design nof the car is superb and although it is 9 years old, could easily pass for a "new" car"

8 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just about everything"

Cons: "Torque steer; turning circle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! Mine is a 2006 with 6-speed manual. It is fast and I have surprised a lot BMWs when they decided to try to zip past me. Feels very secure at freeway speeds. Handles well with minimal lean in corners and never loses its grip. My only complaints about handling are that it has a lot of torque steer and it could turn quicker. The shifter is as smooth and sweet as any I have used, including my Miata--throws are only about a half inch more than the Miata and smoother. Comfortable, rides well. Still looks great 8 years later. Extremely reliable, gets 20 mpg around town, 30 on the highway. Lots of convenience features--I was so happy to find that it has fog lights!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

outstanding vehicle-reilable-stylish-powerful

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything is great no complaints"

Cons: "rarely the doors lock on their own"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"as above"

Great, reliable car.

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives and handlgreat, reliable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive mostly highway, and did not put a dime into my 2007 Acura TL until almost 150,000 miles when I spend approx. $80 on some type of sensor. I bought the car used with 23k miles on it, and did not even put new brakes until 150k miles. I now have 185k miles on it and so far now I have put approx. $450 into it, not including brakes and tires. I am certainly a believer that Acura is one of the absolute best vehicles made, especially when it comes to what you get for the price. A very reliable and great care to drive. I chose it over BMW and I have no regrets."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Power, comfort, reliability..what more to ask for?

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort, power, reliability, fun, handling, sexy"

Cons: "insurance rates"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My TL has been a fantastic vehicle... period. Brakes and tires every 50,000 miles and that's it. I average 27 mpg commuting combined driving 70 miles a day. Power, comfort, reliability.. what more does one want? My second TL, my 2003 was just as good and put 90,000 on it before getting the 2008. My dilemma is whether to keep this one after buying a new RDX. Hard to part with such a great car..."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

The best car I have owned.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Dependable. Good looking"

Cons: "Not great in the snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it with 104k. Put 51k on it in two years. Not one mechanical problem. Fun to drive, quiet, dependable, great engine, transmission, brakes. Looks good too."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

MOST RELIABLE HIGH POWERED 4 DOOR SEDAN

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,050

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "FUN FUN FUN"

Cons: "SOUND SYSTEM COULD BE BETTER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR. ITS A SPORTS CAR IN A SEDAN BODY. DONT COMPLAIN ABOUT THE RIDE COMFORT, THE SUSPENSION IS STIFF TO SUPPORT PERFORMANCE WHEN YOU DEMAND IT. 7 YEARS OLD AND ALL INTERIOR INSTRUMENTS ARE IN WORKING ORDER. THEY DONT MAKE TOO MANY 4 DOOR SEDANS WITH ALMOST 300 HP. MONEY WELL SPENT!"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY TL, ENJOY DRIVING IT EVERY DAY

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "NEED BETTER DEFROST SYSTEM AND HEAT ON WIPERS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Enjoy the ride, the driving the security on curves. Like heated seats, power everthing...Just love my car"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Quality - Inside and Out and great design"

Cons: "NONE, unless it is out of your price range"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 2007 TL over 7 years now and it is by far the best car I have ever owned. I absolutely love the way it handles, drives and rides. Got me home in a big snow storm last year that took me 6 hours to drive 60 miles but it did not leave me stranded! Has 152k miles on it and still runs great. I keep it serviced and never had any problems. Before buying my first Honda vehicle, I drove Chevrolet and Oldsmobile products, and there is simply no comparison. I have owned numerous Honda/Acura autos and at 52 yrs old, will never go back. This is the first vehicle that I have kept for this long (other than my 2002 Honda S2000) and I really don't have a desire to get anything else (unusual for me)."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been a wonderful car. not one issue in 10 yrs 104k miles. still going strong."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Had Honda or Acura since 1980. This is the best

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling and reliability"

Cons: "wish better mileage. a little noisy on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If regularly maintained, this car will give you many years of reliable service. A good drive under all weather conditions, but tends to hydroplane a little starting up on a hill in wet weather. Great on the highway."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever! And thats a fact!

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"sweg"

Best Vehicle I've ever owned worth the $

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Upfront I was concerned with the cost, but overall I have had routine maintenance and little to no "repair". The car is great to drive - has spunk but is luxury. Looking forward to owning a newer model someday."

Fairly new tires and battery. New air condition

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Good car need minor body work New air condition about 2 to 3 years ago Fairly new tires and battery"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car and most everything about it.

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "pretty, great handling car; holds its value;"

Cons: "would like full back seat open to trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ever since I bought my loaded Acura TL in 2004, complete with mud flaps, navig, spoiler, gold pkg and tech package...I have never, for one instant regretted it. In 2004, it was a new design year and even in 2014, 10 years later, it still looks stylish and not outdated in any way. It is gently used, < 48,000 mi...mostly in Florida...no scratches or dents and a beautiful Redondo red pearl color. The engine acts and sounds like new; with brand new Michelin tires, it has fabulous pick up, and handles like a dream. With the front wheel drive, it is fabulous in the snow. It is time for me to downsize to one car, and as I have another car only 2 years new, this one will be for sale. I am looking for full Kelly blue book value for my car...best offer dealership or private, get the car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best value around!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Exceptional value"

Cons: "Can get speeding tickets if you're not careful!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

got windows tinted by a professional

"I've always had faith in the Honda/Acura line, but this TL has proved to be the best value ever, and with the added luxuries has been comfortable and extremely enjoyable to drive. If I didn't need more room at this point I wouldn't even consider giving it up. The reliability is exceptional, as you'd expect, and it's never left me stranded."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

got windows tinted by a professional

I love Acura

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great value and they run forever"

Cons: "No sunglass holder like the older models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just detailed, a hobby of mine.

"I've been driving Hondas and Acura's for over 25 years. You cannot beat the value you get for your money! I am considering a TLX however Acura has moved into the same pricing structure as most manufactures, everything is an upgrade, I liked it when you had a choice of two types, with or without the Tech Package and everything else was standard. Acura is still a great car and a great value!"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Just detailed, a hobby of mine.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals