Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 686 Ratings for the 2004 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

Best value around!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Exceptional value"

Cons: "Can get speeding tickets if you're not careful!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

got windows tinted by a professional

"I've always had faith in the Honda/Acura line, but this TL has proved to be the best value ever, and with the added luxuries has been comfortable and extremely enjoyable to drive. If I didn't need more room at this point I wouldn't even consider giving it up. The reliability is exceptional, as you'd expect, and it's never left me stranded."

got windows tinted by a professional

I love Acura

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great value and they run forever"

Cons: "No sunglass holder like the older models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just detailed, a hobby of mine.

"I've been driving Hondas and Acura's for over 25 years. You cannot beat the value you get for your money! I am considering a TLX however Acura has moved into the same pricing structure as most manufactures, everything is an upgrade, I liked it when you had a choice of two types, with or without the Tech Package and everything else was standard. Acura is still a great car and a great value!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Just detailed, a hobby of mine.

Original owner. Owned 5 previous Acura's

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "A great ride for a male a harder drive for a femal"

Cons: "Not happy with life of tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just put four new tires on it which has a total of ten miles"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car, great quality

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Technology package awesome, quality ride"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought CPO in 2007, only did oil changes, tires and brakes before the 100k stuff (timing belt, etc.) Amazingly trouble-free. This car was ahead of its time, fully loaded with Nav, integrated phone, satellite radio, etc. Great job Acura! Will be looking at another soon!"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, fun to drive, reliable, sporty"

Cons: "they don't make them like this anymore!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 04 TL used with 90K on it and have about 110K on it now.. runs amazing.. regular oil changes and new tires this past summer are all that I've had to do. Won't sell this car.. will drive it as long as I can."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

awesome car

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"had very few issues. great vehicle"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

So sad to see her go!

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 04 Acura TL with 78k miles on it. I paid 12k cash and drove it to 233k miles without EVER fixing one thing! Just regular maintenance like tires, brakes and rotars. Best car I ever owned. Leather started to breakdown from the heat and humidity as soon as I moved to Florida. But the car had 200k miles already. This has been an amazing vehicle. Never broke down! Transmission issue at 233k miles so I had to get rid of. But I think I got my moneys worth! I will Always buy Acura!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

About as Good as It Gets

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "Cassette deck instead of bluetooth audio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm the original owner and after 10 years I can say I'd buy this car all over again. In 10 years and 200,000 miles, the only major repairs I had to do were to replace the A/C compressor, the clutch (yes I have a manual transmission), and a rear brake caliper. An almost one of a kind combination of exterior and interior colors, a stick, and navigation system make this car an extremely rare find and I still get comments on how great it looks. The navigation system tends to run slow the first time you use it after you start it up, but is an asset nonetheless. A lot of stuff that had to be done while the car was in warranty however, but Acura stepped up to the plate. I've done all my recommended maintenance and have used only synthetic oil. I'll bet I get another 100K miles out of it. Has a cassette deck. Didn't Acura get the memo that cassette decks were obsolete years before this car was made and that iPhone and Bluetooth audio connections were already well instilled in the world?"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent, Reliable, Beautiful car

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "beautiful, nice ride, powerful, great interior"

Cons: "premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car new. It's a 2005 model. Initially, there was an issue with the transmission and after multiple trips to the dealership they've replaced it at no cost. Since then I've had zero issues with my car and I am very happy I bought it. It is beautifully designed (I still think so after 8 years) and the quality of the interior is excellent. It's essentially maintenance-free."

Best car I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only maintenance has been brakes, tires, oil and timing belt at 100K. Only every had 1 breakdown since I bought it new and that was a sensor that I had replaced."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best drive, styling,"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

first new car

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price, nice look, reliable"

Cons: "no back up camera...no navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car is reliable. safe. comfortable. never had any major issues. would love to keep is but having a baby and need more room."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Just lovin' it

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "No 2nd 12v plug in back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 5th Acura starting with a Legend Coupe, an Inegra for my daughter (sold on safety and reliability),an RL (luv'd it) a CL and now my TL. 10 yrs. and still worth over 30% of what I paid for it. FANTASTIC!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2004-TL-Best Car Ever

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price good, Fun & reliablity is important"

Cons: "Bluetooth with new phones does not work."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great solid car, need speed, it has it. Comfort except a little noise once in a while around by the radio is still worth the cost. It needs very little attention in servicing. Had a problem with the tires right at the beginning. They were changed and I get normal wear on them now. Would buy a Acura TL again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "TL feels just great to drive."

Cons: "Only objection is road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is as good as Consumer Reports rated it in 2006. Only problem is a little too much road noise at times due to high performance tires."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "TL feels just great to drive."

Cons: "Only objection is road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is as good as Consumer Reports rated it in 2006. Only problem is a little too much road noise at times due to high performance tires."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "TL feels just great to drive."

Cons: "Only objection is road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is as good as Consumer Reports rated it in 2006. Only problem is a little too much road noise at times due to high performance tires."

Great car, problem-free

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, value, trouble free"

Cons: "Premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car for almost 8 years, never had any problems. Just changed timing belt, got new tires and new brakes, and it's good to go for another 8 years."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great value

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent price, not expensive to maintain."

Cons: "Premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The price was thousands less than others in its class. The car is fast, handles great and better than expected mileage. The dealers are excellent and supportive. Most parts are priced like Honda and were reasonable, except for low beam headlight bulbs."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

one of the best

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price looks"

Cons: "inside lites leather seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"owned this car 35000 now 105000. reg. repairs ie timing belt 100000 trans flush etc. no suspension yet. only things not happy with lite in shifter out lite in steering wheel out driver seat leather cracking."

one of the best

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price looks"

Cons: "inside lites leather seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"owned this car 35000 now 105000. reg. repairs ie timing belt 100000 trans flush etc. no suspension yet. only things not happy with lite in shifter out lite in steering wheel out driver seat leather cracking."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car for 10 years!

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Beautiful body and interior"

Cons: "Failed transmission and cracked dash"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My 2004 Acura TL was flawless until the dash started cracking recently--have since learned this was a common flaw on the '04's and Acura refused to deal with it. The car has been faithfully serviced and all replacements carried out but transmission has failed at 148,000 miles. There would still be lots of good use in this car for someone because most experts agree this model run was the best looking of all Acuras. It's someone's for a song."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Looks, drive, safety, quality, low maintenance costs, and all-around appeal. I have owned Nissans, Hondas, and Volvos, and even a couple of used American cars. This blows them all away. I LOVE my Acura."

Going on 10 Years with 2004TL

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "140k, no issues, still tight, Manual trans great"

Cons: "pricey parts if needed; brakes & tires too often"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Cars are absurdly expensive, so my rule is 15 years or 150,000 miles. It is unacceptable for any major work to be required prior to 100k; trans should never need work...in my early-40's, this is my third car. Up to 140k mileage, no sign of loosening performance or significant wear. Still peppy and super fun to drive and picks up speed in a heartbeat when needed. Can't say how many times I've topped out at 70 on the highway only to realize I was still in 4th - 2 gears to go!! I'm not an excessive speeder, but great to have the control and response when needed. We did do the crazy 105k Honda preventive maintenance (don't want to mess with the blown belt), but at our mechanic for half the cost of the dealer. Interior has held up, new riders cannot believe it is 10 years old. Still looks modern and sporty. We chose the manual for control (why get a sportscar without manual?!) - love it. Stiff clutch, but no worries in wearing it down. Pros: no engine or mechanical issues; completely confident in this car at all times; no worries we will get well past 200k. Cons: at time of purchase, it was a splurge for us; did not know about the low profile tires only lasting 40k miles...that's been a bummer; brakes - this is my only gripe - cannot just machine the rotors, total replacement including calipers twice. And with Acura - our fabulous mechanic can only order calipers from Acura dealers at a ridiculous price. Only one rattle - on one of the weird door flaps under the radio - we just leave it open so no worries. Value is there because nothing breaks...the brake cost makes me nervous to think how much it would be if something major happened...thank goodness we don't need to waste time or money on that!! Now shopping to replace the other car, a 99, and remembering why we liked shopping for the Acura...there are no stupid options or sifting thru 50 packages with none having exactly what you want. It's just all there. Only choices were the manual trans, color and navigation (did not get). Great longevity, glad we made the plunge, now struggling to ponder if we up the spend for the next one!!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Exellent Car

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car, comfortable, handles great, fun to driv"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car 2005 Acura TL about 7 years (I bought it used with 25,000 miles on it) and have gone on numerous long trips and there is nothing bad I can say about it. This is a great car, great gas mileage, comfortable, handles great even after all these years. I understand why people keep acura's so long."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals