Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 466 Ratings for the 1999 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Not Reliable

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've had my Acura TL since 2006. As far as a decent car, it is. Without warning the Transmission went, It cost several thousand dollars to fix. Speedometer also broke, along with the CD player, Have had to have the A/C recharged several times. I will never buy another Acura."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

POOR TRANSMISSION

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EXTERIOR & INTERIOR QUALITY, GREAT TO DRIVE."

Cons: "UNRELIABLE TRANSMISSION AND A/C WIRING PROBLEMS."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"AUTO IS OVERALL GREAT, EXCEPT FOR THE PROBLEMATIC TRANSMISSION IN THIS PARTICULAR YEAR MODEL (1999). SOME A/C PROBLEMS DUE TO KNOWN FAULTY WIRING UNDER DASH. ACURA KNEW OF THESE 2 PARTICULAR PROBLEMS."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car...

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everyone else loves my car too."

Cons: "It should not cost $1000 to replace the CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wanted a big, roomy, civilized 4DR sedan - and definitely nothing SUV-like - that I could comfortably chaffeur passengers in, and look forward to road trips in with plenty of room for all my suitcases in the trunk. The only thing close, was a Cadillac STS for a lot more money...The only reason it did not receive perfect tens across was the recall for the design flaw in the transmission caused early failure - a little hiccup, which was eventually replaced no charge, but my VIN was not included in the recall as it should have been since it failed due to the same flaw."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

In 50 years I will name it "Ol' Reliable"

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, cheap parts, comfortable, fast"

Cons: "Big"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"...Not that I should be driving in 50 years from now but still my grand-kids would probably still be able to drive it and not have any problems. My TL-S has gotten me through the worst blizzards, long road trips and most importantly makes me feel very safe. There's plenty of room in the trunk and back seats and I love the sound system. It's a great commuter especially when you need to hit the gas last second to get around some half-asleep fool in the fast lane. The 6cyl. V-Tec is a great motor and consistently gives amazing power even after 140k and having the Type-S does help with acceleration. The suspension is a bit soft but it's a cruiser not a racer. I love it!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned I've owned a dozen or so,

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good value & fun to drive"

Cons: "None that I know of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"reliable, comfortable, sporty. Nothing not to like about it. Owned it for 11 yrs w/o any major problems"

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

2nd best Acura I ever had.

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Acura's are the best automobiles on the Market"

Very reliable

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 670,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my Acura used in 2005 it had 101,000 miles. I had a regular mechanic work on my car and he destoyed my engine at 250,000 miles. I replaced that engine with a used engine and I only allow certified Acura or Honda mechanics work on my car. It is nine years later and I would not trade or give up my Acura for anything. I am going to keep it forever. It now has approx. 670,000 miles. I have went through numerous amounts of tires and brakes and three transmissions. The transmission has quit like clokwork around 225,000 miles. Overall I am very happy I purchased this car."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Needed transmission with 100,000 miles & 8yrs new

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "other than transmission, great car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Great car other than having to get transmission replaced .."

Great car-reluctantly bought a new one after 12yrs

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car-reluctantly bought a new one after 12yrs"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great & Reliable Car

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 3 years and it's a great car it's gotten me through 2 accidents without a scratch. She drives great and I am sure she will last much longer. I haven't had a problem yet!(knock on wood)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very comfortable, reliable vehicle

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "needs brake job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"good car"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

going out

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "nice car"

Cons: "i dont have the money to fix it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"needs a tranny"

is a good vehicule, still strong

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"car is ok, but shaking while speeding. it has tramission rebuilt 2 years ago."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great drive...comfortable

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The only complaints I have is that this model year there was a problem with the transmission. I went through 2 transmissions....after one year, and then after about 5 years. Also, it began to rust in 2 of the wheel wells. I've owned many Hondas and this is the first one that rusted. I do not live near a beach where salt would cause this to happen, and I am meticulous about this car. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed this car and wish I could afford a new one."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I Love this car!

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car more than any car Ive ever owned! Its been a great car. No problems and comfort and extras are wonderful! I cant seem to find a new car that I like as well..lol Other than another Acura."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car until Transmission goes out

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice styling, smooth ride"

Cons: "Honda/Acura Transmissions are poorly designed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Owned a 12 yr-old Honda Accord. Transmission went out around 200k. My 12-yr old Acura TL is experiencing transmission problems as well at 180k. Poorly designed engine. The interior lasts a long time. Paint job is fine. Smooth ride, but won't pass smog with the check engine light on."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "exceptional quality & construction"

Cons: "rear view of passing cars not great!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car, few if any problems. Heavy, sturdy, comfortable to drive. Good gas millage!"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Still puts a smile on my face.

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, handling, acceleration, comfort, ect"

Cons: "I'm thinking..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my TL with 112k miles and it now has 147k. She drive like a new one; cornering, braking, accelerating, ect... I just bought a full set of performance tires and she corners as if on rails. I did not know about the hid headlights, so I got sticker shock when I had to drop $380 to replace the lens, ballast and bulb. The original radio works perfectly but I replaced it with one that has the features I wanted (Bluetooth, hands free, Iphone integration ). I use Mobil one synthetic and keep up the maintenance. As a result, she give me 19 city / 31 hwy. Her mpg averages higher than many new cars. I love my TL."

17 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Great Car. Comfortable, Reliable and FUN!

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,880

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Convenience & Reliability. Fully loaded."

Cons: "Needs snow tires if driving in the snow + ice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2002 Acura TL Type-S

"While my wife drives it back and forth to work, I bought the Type-S for me. It's a high-end Honda. Reliability is great. Never an issue that ever leaves me stranded, or dumping lots of cash into. Many reports of tranny problems, this car shows no signs of any problems at 100k. The ride is excellent. Soft when you want it on long trips on the interstate highways, yet corners relatively flat when you're racing down the twisty roads. It's really the best of both worlds. This car is a real sleeper. With the added ponies in the Type-S pkg., she gets up and goes pretty well. Ask the teenager in a new challenger who pulled along side of me. It was a lot closer than he ever expected, judging by his "thumb's-up" after running with him. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE CAR."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2002 Acura TL Type-S

I love my TL

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, power and stereo system."

Cons: "2003 model had transmission problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I put a lot of miles on my vehicles and this one has responded extremely well. Very nimble and always ready with a burst of power when needed. The only reason I'm even considering another vehicle is to move more people and pets."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best car we've ever own

By on Sunday, December 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"we got our 208,000 miles value plus more from this vehicle. kept up the maintenance religiously. never broke down on the road - extremely reliable."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It keeps going and going and going

By on Sunday, December 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very zippy and sporty feel. Great gas mileage."

Cons: "If I had to knit pick, seats are a little stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"To keep it short and simple this car has never let me down. I almost hate to move on from it. 158,000 miles and not a single malfunction or repair needed.... just remarkable."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Simply the most reliable car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, November 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, timeless style."

Cons: "Body lean, nav can not be updated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Now going into year 15 in owning this car. I wish they made cars like this today - interior has held up including the switch gear and does not look as dated as car that's 15 years old should. Nearly everything functions as when new with a few exceptions - self dimming rearview mirror failed about 5 years old, CD based nav system is not updateable and of little use today. Only other complaint is so-so gas mileage, and my original paint has faded and in spots on the roof looks like the protective coat has eroded. (I park the car on the street.) Like others have said I would say handling is competent but not razor sharp and there is more body lean than I like in corners but it's among the most comfortable highway cars I've owned. Such a shame that Acura/Honda are not producing the same sort of cars with timeless style, simplicity, and reliability."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best first car you could ask for

By on Friday, November 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Quick, Comfortable, HWY MPG"

Cons: "Terrible gas mileage in the city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's an amazing car that I have never had issues with, at almost 240000 miles it's still running strong couldn't ask for more fun, safety, comfort and reliability in a car"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

saved a life

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safety, style, powerful, got good milage"

Cons: "paint faded a little."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Beautiful, classy, timeless. Saved a family member's life in an accident last week by crumpling around him. R I P to my favorite car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals