Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1998 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 131 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Confy & reliable sports sedan

By on Sunday, October 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been an owner of this car since new & I am very pleased with the service it has done over the years. First it was a weekend car (when new), now its the daily driver. It seats confortably 5 adults & with 196Hp & around 25mpg average it sure is a bang for the buck. The car has all the available options at the moment & they have proven to be worthy over time. Now I've swith to SUV's and one of them is the RDX. Nice Job Acura!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, February 01, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: was getting high in mileage

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, power, comfort, affordable"

Cons: "None that I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a 96 TL used in 2007 with about 150k on it and sold it in 2012 with about 230k, during that time the only things that needed replacement was the radiator and ignition switch. Never had any problem with the transmission or engine. The only reason I sold it was because it was still worth some money at 230k because anyone who knows a thing or two about these first generation TL's is that they last forever. I was able to sell it for $3000 dollars, not bad for a car that was 16 years old with over 200k miles. I plan to purchase a 98 TL Ive been eyeing on a dealer's lot. These cars have a high resale value and if you can find one that was taken care of, Id say go for it. With regular maintenance this car will last you a long time."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Incredible vehicle.....

By on Monday, April 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I've ever had....I'm looking for a new version of the same... I bought mine used. A lease car from California. Had 30k on it.....that was 2000. Here we are 13 years later, a few miles on it...and I still love it. But it's time....plus, I retired and I deserve something newer. But this beautiful champagne colored baby is going to have to go to a good home and I think I'll ask for visitation rights. She's sweet. I never got really good gas milage with it until I started to go with Amsoil....it just plain helps....about 2mpg more...up to 22 on the road. But I did'nt mind....what a great car. Thank you Acura folks."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

96 2.5TL

By on Sunday, April 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the vehicle for eleven years...bought it in '97 with 16k....it now has 217k! I just purchased a '98 2.5TL with 94K, and will be giving my higher school junior the '96. Great cars...can never go wrong with the first generation Acura's...second gen have some issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Affordable luxury

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is great. Had it for over 2 years with no mechanical problems. Bought it with 88,000 miles now have 115k+ . Can't ask for more!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals