Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1998 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 130 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Confy & reliable sports sedan

By on Sunday, October 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been an owner of this car since new & I am very pleased with the service it has done over the years. First it was a weekend car (when new), now its the daily driver. It seats confortably 5 adults & with 196Hp & around 25mpg average it sure is a bang for the buck. The car has all the available options at the moment & they have proven to be worthy over time. Now I've swith to SUV's and one of them is the RDX. Nice Job Acura!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, February 01, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: was getting high in mileage

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, power, comfort, affordable"

Cons: "None that I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a 96 TL used in 2007 with about 150k on it and sold it in 2012 with about 230k, during that time the only things that needed replacement was the radiator and ignition switch. Never had any problem with the transmission or engine. The only reason I sold it was because it was still worth some money at 230k because anyone who knows a thing or two about these first generation TL's is that they last forever. I was able to sell it for $3000 dollars, not bad for a car that was 16 years old with over 200k miles. I plan to purchase a 98 TL Ive been eyeing on a dealer's lot. These cars have a high resale value and if you can find one that was taken care of, Id say go for it. With regular maintenance this car will last you a long time."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Incredible vehicle.....

By on Monday, April 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I've ever had....I'm looking for a new version of the same... I bought mine used. A lease car from California. Had 30k on it.....that was 2000. Here we are 13 years later, a few miles on it...and I still love it. But it's time....plus, I retired and I deserve something newer. But this beautiful champagne colored baby is going to have to go to a good home and I think I'll ask for visitation rights. She's sweet. I never got really good gas milage with it until I started to go with Amsoil....it just plain helps....about 2mpg more...up to 22 on the road. But I did'nt mind....what a great car. Thank you Acura folks."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

96 2.5TL

By on Sunday, April 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the vehicle for eleven years...bought it in '97 with 16k....it now has 217k! I just purchased a '98 2.5TL with 94K, and will be giving my higher school junior the '96. Great cars...can never go wrong with the first generation Acura's...second gen have some issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car rocks !

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car used in 2000 with 55k on it ..it is now 2008 and I have 166k on it ! This car is amazingly dependable ..and I have DRIVEN this sucker at some amazing speeds ..handles great , looks great , the best car I have ever owned ! Maintanence ? who needs to do anything with this car but change the oil & rotate the tires ..P.S I have put Regular gas in it for the past 4 years ...no pinging at all , just slight power reduction ...I'd name my kid Acura if my wife would let me !"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Affordable luxury

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is great. Had it for over 2 years with no mechanical problems. Bought it with 88,000 miles now have 115k+ . Can't ask for more!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I've had it for 9+ years and still going strong

By on Sunday, November 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, solid, and safe"

Cons: "Premium gas (89) is preferred"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this from original owner in 2003. It had 65,000 miles on it. I drove it as my primary vehicle for 8+ years; now my kids drive it. It is dependable, solid and comfortable. Recommended maintenance work has been done on it over the years, but that's it. CD player went on it, but kids use ipod/cassette adapter for their music. Some rust has developed; I live in Vermont; it happens, but that has been patched with quality work. Enjoyed this one so much I bought a used 2007 TSX as my one-way work commute grew from 9 miles to 34 miles. I've become an ardent Acura fan."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

comfortable but repair history disappointing

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've spent approx $700 per year for the last 5 years on various repairs. I love to drive this car, but really expected it to be more reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Saturday, March 14, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have driven 170,000KM of the cars 240,000 KM, and it has not stranded me twice, the only time was a built up corrosion on the battery post, thats all. fast enough, handles well when pushed to extreme, quiet, the best car I've had. My son now drives it to College, as I will not sell it outside of the family, its just too good to let go."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, September 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"at 12 years old this cars runs and handles better than a new car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, December 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for a few years now and it still rides good. Its 10 years old and still better than some new cars. I am going to trade it in for 2008. I have driven lots of different cars including luxury cars like Lexus and Mercedes and when it comes to the control and the ride from my car nothing compares."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth as silk on the road"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely the best car I ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 98' Acura TL was my first vehicle, I still own it and I still love it just as I did the day I bought it (in 2008). It's reliable, fun, beautiful, and overall a great little car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Friday, August 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive. very smooth ride!"

Cons: "has cup holders and nice leather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is very dependable and never let you done. Even though it is an older vehicle it still has good mileage on gas and it is a very solid car. I love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

First Generation - Best Generation

By on Friday, August 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 96 TL used six years ago and still have the car. Each time I look at it, and other 1st Generation TLs, I think what a beautiful car it is. The TLs have only gotten better, but the first body style has a lot of character and even after 14 years, it's still a classic in my eyes. Mechanically, the car, like all others, has its quirks, but it's given me no engine problems (knock on wood) and is still running like a Champ."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best ever owned

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"purchased my 97 certified used in 00, paid the premium asked just would not discount the price. However it has paid me back 3 fold in reliability an overall performance. Still with over 120K gets 25 mpg highway. CD no longer works and replaced the starter at 75K. I garage it and it still turns heads when waxed. If you purchase one, just make sure the service was done, you wont regret it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Quality car

By on Sunday, September 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought our '97 TL in 2000 with 40K. Now approaching 90K and have had no serious issues other than regular maintenance (battery, tires, oil, brakes). A luxury ride with sporty handling, great power, reliable performance, and classic styling. Take care of the recommended routine maintenance items and you should be able to expect having this car for at least! 200K miles! Wish it had memory seats and telescopic steering but there are really no complaints. I can't imagine a better vehicle for the money. Will certainly look at another Acura product for the next vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great for single women

By on Friday, August 08, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"got my 96 2.5 in 2007.. one owner 120k mi.. enjoy the ride well maintained and have had no problems under the hood.. replaced the ignition switch recently but that's normal wear and tear.. currently at 140k and still running strong... but as my family grows i need to move on and get a family van.. but i'm keeping my TL for my nights out...it is still an eye catcher!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my '96 TL for 12 years and have never had any problems. I love the power and the luxurious interior!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great, great car

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"owned this car for 4 years and has lever let me down. starts every time. lots of power because it is a 5 cylndr, and great on gas. highly recommend! still own it! july of 2008"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, March 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the TL for 12 years-it has been the best vehicle that I have ever owned. I just purchased an 2008 TL and still can't part with the 1996. I hope the new will be as good as the old one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A worthy car.

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"There aren't many 10 year old+ strong, reliable cars out there like the Acura TL. This car is very easy to maintain, looks great and rides well. I have driven cars that are 5years old that do not run like the TL. The engines are very strong and can run for more than 200000 miles easy. It doesn't have the bells and whistles like a new car but it also doesn't have the issues new cars come with."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Still Runs Great After 9 yrs

By on Monday, December 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 99 TL 9 years ago in Fall '98 and I planned to keep it well after the payments stopped. The Honda quality sold me and I was not disappointed. Enjoyed the last 5 yrs with no payments and a quiet, reliable, confortable car! I did use the extended service plan to replace the NAV system hard drive. How did Acura expect a hard drive to last in the Texas summer heat? A DVD version came out in 2000. At 120k mi, the engine has plenty of power with no signs of wear. Hate to sell it, but want a smaller car now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A Joy To Own

By on Sunday, September 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I'm original owner, was very disappointed intially when Acura came out with the new style 5 weeks after my purchase. The new model was $5200 cheaper! However, my 98 TL now has 182,000 on it and is probably the least expensive, most reliable car I have ever owned, especially after 3 BMW's and a Benz. No problems whatsoever, just reasonably regular maintainence. I have moved my whole family to Acura's and will continue to buy them for their value, reliability, performance, and resale. I'm shocked to find that this car is still worth nearly $7000 at this age and mileage!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've worked on numerous cars in my day. This auto is mechanically sound, quick responder to acceleration, good visual and sight lines, gas sipping luxury car. Somewhere in the Lexus stratosphere of prestige & reliability with out the over the top reccognition or reputation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals