Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1998 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 129 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Confy & reliable sports sedan

By on Sunday, October 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been an owner of this car since new & I am very pleased with the service it has done over the years. First it was a weekend car (when new), now its the daily driver. It seats confortably 5 adults & with 196Hp & around 25mpg average it sure is a bang for the buck. The car has all the available options at the moment & they have proven to be worthy over time. Now I've swith to SUV's and one of them is the RDX. Nice Job Acura!"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

The Best

By on Monday, February 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1996 2.5TL in 2000 with 60000 miles on it from an Acura Dealer. Just broke 280,000 miles on her this past weekend. The eight years we have owned this car we Changed the timing belt 3 times, The Starter, the Fuel Pump, Tires, Brakes, belts CV Boots and Alternator. Not bad for 8 years. Still cleans up nice and no cracks in the leather. If it decides to quit on me now I would be satified."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, February 01, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: was getting high in mileage

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, power, comfort, affordable"

Cons: "None that I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a 96 TL used in 2007 with about 150k on it and sold it in 2012 with about 230k, during that time the only things that needed replacement was the radiator and ignition switch. Never had any problem with the transmission or engine. The only reason I sold it was because it was still worth some money at 230k because anyone who knows a thing or two about these first generation TL's is that they last forever. I was able to sell it for $3000 dollars, not bad for a car that was 16 years old with over 200k miles. I plan to purchase a 98 TL Ive been eyeing on a dealer's lot. These cars have a high resale value and if you can find one that was taken care of, Id say go for it. With regular maintenance this car will last you a long time."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Bulletproof!

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "No backseat room for anyone above 4ft tall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Almost 4 years of ownership and over 222000 miles and its still will get me anywhere I want or need to go. Just wish it did better on mpgs."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Tuesday, September 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my acura has 220,000 miles and is still running.....nothing like it....people are still asking me do i want to sale it. its my baby"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals