Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 128 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Monday, October 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the original owner. I believe in preventive maintenance and have taken very good care of this "baby." It has only been serviced at the Acura dealer where it was purchased. No smoking, no children, Excellent Condition."

classic

By on Thursday, October 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"nice car"

An Excellent Vehicle

By on Monday, October 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my second Acura. I met my high expectations -- great performance; exceptional reliabilty; a smooth ride in every way. The fit and finish were superb and dealer service has been excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fantastic Car

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this car. I bought it in 2001 and it is still going strong. my only complaint woudl be that they still use a timing belt versus a chain, otherwise, this thing is shweet...150K and still counting..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Proud Owner

By on Tuesday, October 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this vehicle new and have put all 170,000 miles on it. It is still dependable,comfotable and good looking! Wonderful value!!"

By on Monday, October 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

A Joy To Own

By on Sunday, September 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I'm original owner, was very disappointed intially when Acura came out with the new style 5 weeks after my purchase. The new model was $5200 cheaper! However, my 98 TL now has 182,000 on it and is probably the least expensive, most reliable car I have ever owned, especially after 3 BMW's and a Benz. No problems whatsoever, just reasonably regular maintainence. I have moved my whole family to Acura's and will continue to buy them for their value, reliability, performance, and resale. I'm shocked to find that this car is still worth nearly $7000 at this age and mileage!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Thursday, September 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Acura TL is the best car I've ever owned. After 117k miles it still runs great. Definitely got my money's worth."

A Good Car

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had my TL for 3 years. Its very reliable. The only thing I had to do in 3 years is replace the rear brakes, beside routine oil changes. 147000 miles and it still runs like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I love my 1998 Acura

By on Thursday, September 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this car but it's just not fast enough for me. I had an Acura legend before and it was faster than TL. I should've gotten RL but it was too expensive. I still love my car."

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very dependable car, just erquires regular maintenance."

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great car

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"trouble free. Car was recalled for transmission which was replaced."

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

EXCELLENT AUTO

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"SUPERIOR VALUE,DEPENDABILITY,COMFORT,VERY LOW MAINTENANCE,ALL THE QUALITIES YOU EXPECT FROM A QUALITY VEHICLE"

very nice car

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"i continue to be impressed with the foreiign imports. i have had honda's accords & civics, toyota camry's & corolla's as well as an avalon. believe this is the best of the best. ride is superb. these cars just do not break!!! zero problems with normal maintenance. i was a little disappointed that this car required premium fuel and did not deliver mileage i expected. i get 24-25 regularly but was expecting closer to 30. after t/w owners of newer tl's they indicate they are getting 30+. perhaps the older v6 does not deliver????"

Best car I've ever owned...

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this Acura for 5 years, bought it used, it's one of the best investments from a cost standpoint that I've ever made...It's a great car and I will not sell or trade it in, I will use it for a spare car when I buy a new Acura this year...1cre8iveguy"

Good Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have used my Acura 2.5 TL for about a year and am very happy with its performance. However, there seems to be common problem in these Acuras, the Brake pressure cylinder a.k.a master cylinder is not reliable. So it is a problem in stop and go situations. It takes about $ 200 - $ 250 to fix it. Other than that its a classic car."

worst transmission

By on Saturday, July 28, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"The TL is a fun car to drive until that day when, like so many TL owners have found, the transmission goes out. It's a recall item, though Acura didn't anounce until years after knowing of problems. Acura and Honda have done very little to assume responsibility, even after a class action suit to which they settled. Try a google of Acura transmission problems. It'll net over 1 million hits!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Above the rest

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I absolutely love this car - it is a 97 and I've owned it for 7 years. It has never let me down. It sat for a month while I was traveling and started right up the day I got back. I've even driven it in snow; while other cars were spinning out the Acura stayed right where it should. And U-turns? You can't believe how this car turns on a dime. The comfort, the handling and reliability - can't be beat."

Superior Acura Craftsmanship

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car has provided me with everything I ever wanted in a car. It is safe, smooth riding, sporty, and fun. It has held its value over the years better than most cars and has given me rock solid performance year after year. I have done maintenance as stated in the owners manual in fact more than what is in the manual. Oil changes every 3K, air filter every 6K, and tire rotation every 7.5K. Original battery and paint that looks showroom condition after 8 years you cannot beat that."

Better Than a New Car!!!

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my 1996 Acura TL 3.2 Premium for over a year now and it has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. The comfort, quality and value that is in this car is un-matched. Lexus would be up there as well but Lexus owners want darn near what they paid for them. The Acura TL will give you all that you want and more!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

WOW! What a car!

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the most favorite of many cars I have owned. I have owned two now and would buy another one in a heartbeat! The seats are very comfy. The car is extremly roomy. I have three children that seem to all fit comfortably in the back. It is very fun to drive. It corners well and is very safe in all weather conditions. If you buy this car, you will not be disappointed!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals