Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 130 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

By on Thursday, March 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the TL for 12 years-it has been the best vehicle that I have ever owned. I just purchased an 2008 TL and still can't part with the 1996. I hope the new will be as good as the old one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A worthy car.

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"There aren't many 10 year old+ strong, reliable cars out there like the Acura TL. This car is very easy to maintain, looks great and rides well. I have driven cars that are 5years old that do not run like the TL. The engines are very strong and can run for more than 200000 miles easy. It doesn't have the bells and whistles like a new car but it also doesn't have the issues new cars come with."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Still Runs Great After 9 yrs

By on Monday, December 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 99 TL 9 years ago in Fall '98 and I planned to keep it well after the payments stopped. The Honda quality sold me and I was not disappointed. Enjoyed the last 5 yrs with no payments and a quiet, reliable, confortable car! I did use the extended service plan to replace the NAV system hard drive. How did Acura expect a hard drive to last in the Texas summer heat? A DVD version came out in 2000. At 120k mi, the engine has plenty of power with no signs of wear. Hate to sell it, but want a smaller car now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A Joy To Own

By on Sunday, September 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I'm original owner, was very disappointed intially when Acura came out with the new style 5 weeks after my purchase. The new model was $5200 cheaper! However, my 98 TL now has 182,000 on it and is probably the least expensive, most reliable car I have ever owned, especially after 3 BMW's and a Benz. No problems whatsoever, just reasonably regular maintainence. I have moved my whole family to Acura's and will continue to buy them for their value, reliability, performance, and resale. I'm shocked to find that this car is still worth nearly $7000 at this age and mileage!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've worked on numerous cars in my day. This auto is mechanically sound, quick responder to acceleration, good visual and sight lines, gas sipping luxury car. Somewhere in the Lexus stratosphere of prestige & reliability with out the over the top reccognition or reputation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, May 24, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, quick and comfortable"

Cons: "expensive repairs unless DIY"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"great car. interior and exterior well designed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Such a great car

By on Monday, August 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,668

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very sturdy and smooth"

Cons: "only two cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car and its ran great for so many years and long lasting. Right now i just got a new axle and the right after the dealer it started vibrating they say its old, yeah right. I am thinking its the dealers problem because i had a problem with the dealer before. This is a very sturdy car and i just need a new car for college."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY TL

By on Thursday, March 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car 8yrs ago as a pre-owned certified vehicle and have loved it ever since. I bought it with 41K miles now i have over 219000K miles. My acura has never seen a mechanic for any reasons except routine maintenance and tires. Excellent car for the money. Great car in snow and ice just make sure you have good tires. Many people are still surprised how great this car was built. Would recommend this vehicle to anybody."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, March 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1998 Acura 3.2TL at 5 years old and only 25k miles. It is now 12 yrs oldl with 110k. Other than a timing belt and water pump, and a starter, it has never had any major problems in 7 years. It still looks and drives great and is fun to drive. It has been a very reliable car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I LOVE my Acura

By on Wednesday, February 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1998 Acura TL when it was 2 years old - and it's been the best car ever! If reliability is a value to you, you will value this car. I have NEVER been on the side of the road in over 100,000 miles of driving and never had a major repair beyond routine maintenance. I can not say enough good things about this car. I hope it goes another 100K - it's so comfortable and I can't imagine parting with it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Makes Me Wanna Cry

By on Monday, January 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"...bought it in '05, w/150,000 miles on it. 2010 it sits with 228,000+ . No problems. Paint, body and style it still competes. Even my brother told me that she still sexy after all these years. I was hit twice in 30 days and it's still willing to ride. It makes me wanna cry to know thats the reason I have to part with my baby. I LOVED THIS CAR. Thanks Acura."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, November 14, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I had my Acura for more than 7 years, 85K miles. Bought it when it had 134k and other than normal maintenance like timing belt, water pump and filter/oil change I never had any problems (except for I had to replace starter once). It saves you a lot on maintenance cause it does not require as much, but you have to drive responsibly. You can kill anything in a short period of time if you treat it like trash."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Buy

By on Thursday, September 17, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purch. '96 in '00 w/52K. After 285K, need more rm."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very High Quality Car

By on Friday, September 04, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Engine runs great, very nice looking car. Costs a bit to repair"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Old Reliable

By on Saturday, November 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my 98 3.2 TL for 5 yrs. It now has 150,000 miles. The only maintenance I've had to do is the expected. Water pump as recommended, brakes, tires, new battery. The car still drives like it was right off the lot. No joke. It is still very smooth. I plan to drive this car for a long time. I've tested the new TL's, but can't justify trading in my 98. I've liked the Acura so much we just bought the 05 TSX for my wife. I would recommend that one also. The domestic late 1990's cars do not compare with the quality Acura put out at that time. Sorry Big 3, and I'm from MI."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

3.2 TL

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We love this car! Comfortable, sporty, reliable and fun! We will keep it for a long long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

so happy with this car!

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car a little over a month ago and it has been nothing but a dream to drive! When I went looking for a car I wanted something sporty with good pick up but still have that luxury feel and I found the perfect combination with my 99 tl. The ride is smooth even at higher highway speeds the car handles beautifully with the independent suspension no body rolling to speak of which is somewhat expected in larger luxury sedans such as the TL... my favorite part about the tl is all the added features... the heated seats, the bose sound system, radio and cruise controls on the steering wheel, TCS, ABS, leather interior, wood trim... I love it all!! My car has 67,000 and Im looking forward to many long miles ahead! I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a luxury car but isnt willing to sacrifice performance because this car offers both!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The Greatest

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my 1997 Acura 3.2 TL for over 10 years, and it is absolutely the best vehicle I've ever owned. I will definitely replace it with another of the same make and model when it is time to replace it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Buy!!

By on Wednesday, January 02, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just bought this car yesterday. I really fell in love with it. I was looking to buy a used car for about 6,500 , but found this 99 acura for 8700 and with only 55,000mi I just could not pass it up. I did not plan on getting such a luxuray car so it was really a blessing. And after reading all the wonderful reviews I really am looking forward to MANY years and many MILES of payment free driving!! thanks to all of you who posted, so i know what things to look for and replace, starter, timming belt, and transmission."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am very pleased with this car I bought It with 111k on it over 2 years ago and now have over 201k on it. I just replaced the starter and I have done regular maintenance on it and it's been wonderful car. Worth every penny I paid for it!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

my favorite car

By on Wednesday, November 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought this used at 100k miles from a private party, had dealer replace timing belt and then dealer did emission recall work for no charge. Now with 135k it's still great! Factory radio/cd player sometimes doesn't play CD's. I love driving this car, all my kids want it when I replace it. I will look at an Acura again when that time comes."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, October 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, October 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car new in Dec 96 and now have 131K miles. It still looks like new, is very reliable and comfortable. In nearly 11 years I've only had to repair the starter -- other than that, just normal maintenance. You can't go wrong with a Honda/Acura."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

An Excellent Vehicle

By on Monday, October 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my second Acura. I met my high expectations -- great performance; exceptional reliabilty; a smooth ride in every way. The fit and finish were superb and dealer service has been excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fantastic Car

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this car. I bought it in 2001 and it is still going strong. my only complaint woudl be that they still use a timing belt versus a chain, otherwise, this thing is shweet...150K and still counting..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals