Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 127 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Excellent car

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Stylish and fast"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just parked at my garage

"Purchased this car and fell in love with it drives like a dream and has pick up and go when I need it the best part is it only has 79,8250 miles on it had to put 100,000 on milage hard to believe the low miles I guess"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Just parked at my garage

the seems to be comforterable

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "none ok has cup holders to small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the car is fun to drive"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent driving vehicle

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has beenanexcellent car, but want to purchase a new car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I'm in love with this car

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, good lucking, very reliable"

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had the most terrible luck buying my first vehicle, I went through 2 cars that were incredibly unreliable before I bought my TL. I consider her to be my first real car and I'm completely enamored by how she looks and drives. I can't believe that a car that's 17 years old with almost 200,000 miles on it handles the way my TL does. I haven't had to fix anything thus far, and have only had to spend time and money on regular preventative maintenance."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Amazing

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has gone 250000 miles without anything but oil changes and can still hit 140 mph in a breeze"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car ever!!

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "just a great car , very comfy on long drives"

Cons: "Handling good, but I like it a little sportier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"other than routine maint. no other problems, 245,000 miles and still running like a champ. Would buy again in a heart beat. Trading in now just for something newer."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you have this car in California be very careful about CAT Converter. Dealer sells part for $1,600. I didn't think twice when Firestone told me I needed to replace mine in 2009, which they replaced with junk for $400.00. Keep in mind only certified smog station can test if you need new CAT unless it is completely blocked which is unlikely. I barely passed 3 months after and failed smog checked two years after they replaced. I then ordered my own online made by Magnaflow universal fit for this car CA CERTIFIED for 260.00 then installed for 70.00 and now my emissions are extremely low."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, May 24, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, quick and comfortable"

Cons: "expensive repairs unless DIY"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"great car. interior and exterior well designed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Incredible vehicle.....

By on Monday, April 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I've ever had....I'm looking for a new version of the same... I bought mine used. A lease car from California. Had 30k on it.....that was 2000. Here we are 13 years later, a few miles on it...and I still love it. But it's time....plus, I retired and I deserve something newer. But this beautiful champagne colored baby is going to have to go to a good home and I think I'll ask for visitation rights. She's sweet. I never got really good gas milage with it until I started to go with Amsoil....it just plain helps....about 2mpg more...up to 22 on the road. But I did'nt mind....what a great car. Thank you Acura folks."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very reliiabliable no bad comments

By on Saturday, February 09, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Little maintance"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I had the car over ten years and love it very reliabiliable. Maintance next to nothing just keeping the oil changed. Just begining to have problems starting up."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, February 01, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: was getting high in mileage

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, power, comfort, affordable"

Cons: "None that I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a 96 TL used in 2007 with about 150k on it and sold it in 2012 with about 230k, during that time the only things that needed replacement was the radiator and ignition switch. Never had any problem with the transmission or engine. The only reason I sold it was because it was still worth some money at 230k because anyone who knows a thing or two about these first generation TL's is that they last forever. I was able to sell it for $3000 dollars, not bad for a car that was 16 years old with over 200k miles. I plan to purchase a 98 TL Ive been eyeing on a dealer's lot. These cars have a high resale value and if you can find one that was taken care of, Id say go for it. With regular maintenance this car will last you a long time."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I've had it for 9+ years and still going strong

By on Sunday, November 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, solid, and safe"

Cons: "Premium gas (89) is preferred"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this from original owner in 2003. It had 65,000 miles on it. I drove it as my primary vehicle for 8+ years; now my kids drive it. It is dependable, solid and comfortable. Recommended maintenance work has been done on it over the years, but that's it. CD player went on it, but kids use ipod/cassette adapter for their music. Some rust has developed; I live in Vermont; it happens, but that has been patched with quality work. Enjoyed this one so much I bought a used 2007 TSX as my one-way work commute grew from 9 miles to 34 miles. I've become an ardent Acura fan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not up to par

By on Wednesday, November 21, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Did not like

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Quick, handles well, sharp"

Cons: "Wind noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I purchased mine used. It was the 3.2 model, black with beige leather. I’ve owned many used cars and work on them myself. I was really disappointed right from the beginning with this one. It overheated a block from the dealer. They were great, towed it back, apologized profusely, and fixed it right away (fan sensor). It was quick, fully loaded and handled well, but for a high end car I was disappointed. Outside air would get behind the frameless windows and cause irritating wind noise. I’d lose heat at idle and had to bleed and re-bleed the cooling system over and over, but had no real luck. I took it to a known good mechanic that specialized in Acuras and Hondas and they bleed the system, but felt like it had a weak head gasket. I sold it to my friend’s niece and she drove for a year or so until—it severely overheated and she fried the engine."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth as silk on the road"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely the best car I ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Super car. Best ever 4me. LOVE IT!

By on Tuesday, June 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "no mechanical issues, extremely reliable"

Cons: "premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased with 122k, put 132k more on it.NOT ONE PROBLEM with engine or transmission. When gas shot up a couple of years ago I used 87 as no 93 was available. Caused me to purchase an EGR valve and 2 02 sensors. Replaced the AC two summers ago, still frosty. Aside from these issues,she runs like a top. My ADVICE: BUY ONE, take care of it, it will take care of you. I am about to put a new motor in it and keep it rolling!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 98' Acura TL was my first vehicle, I still own it and I still love it just as I did the day I bought it (in 2008). It's reliable, fun, beautiful, and overall a great little car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very comfortable and reliable car buttttttt

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: totaled

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very very comfortable"

Cons: "lack of power and back seat room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned this car for 2 years i bought it for 5200 with 98k miles on it. I was the second owner of this car. Its a very comfortable car. Very smooth car and the seats and options in the car are very nice. Did nothing but regular maintenance on the car until it was totaled at 148k. Even then the insurance company valued it at $3900. The gas mileage was okay 18-23 on a good day. Over all the car is very good for someone that likes a comfortable cruiser. There are some cons though. NOT ENOUGH POWER IN THE ENGINE. The car gets you from point a to b but doesnt shift nor get up to speed like you would want it to. Also the transmissions are known to go bad on these cars as well so watch out. The inside could be a little bit more roomy though as the people in the back had no room when i had my seat back and i didnt have that much room when i would have to move it foward."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

comfortable but repair history disappointing

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've spent approx $700 per year for the last 5 years on various repairs. I love to drive this car, but really expected it to be more reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I think its a pretty good car.

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I want this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend the car."

good car

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "funto drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good shape"

Bulletproof!

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "No backseat room for anyone above 4ft tall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Almost 4 years of ownership and over 222000 miles and its still will get me anywhere I want or need to go. Just wish it did better on mpgs."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Tuesday, September 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my acura has 220,000 miles and is still running.....nothing like it....people are still asking me do i want to sale it. its my baby"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

luxury car

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I want this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "its an absolute grate car."

Cons: "it does not have any registration, and has 185,000 miles on it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"several minor scratches. does not have a license plate, and or any type of registration besides pink slip."

I've had nothing but problems with my Acura

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Cons: "every thing breaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've had nothing but problems with my Acura, if it's not one thing it's another"

Great Car!

By on Friday, August 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive. very smooth ride!"

Cons: "has cup holders and nice leather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is very dependable and never let you done. Even though it is an older vehicle it still has good mileage on gas and it is a very solid car. I love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals