Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Acura MDX Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $39,242 - $40,500.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $43,210

Fair Purchase Price $39,796
Fair Market Range ($39,242 - $40,500)

Invoice $40,105
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 8.6 of 10

10/8.6

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 19 Ratings for the 2014 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Build Quality is Horrible

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Cons: "Horrible build quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I also own 2011 MDX that I like but since I needed another SUV, I bought 2014 MDX. I noticed the new car's build quality deteriorated compared to 2011 model. I always have to open and close doors at least twice (after I greased all the hinges, it got a little better), constant squeaks from the wheel areas, and most of all, terrible grinding noise when accelerating, either gently or fast. I took the car to a dealer but they simply deny that the rattles and the grinding noise even exist. I also have a hard time in adjusting my driver seat to a comfortable position. I am 5' 7" but comfortable seat adjustment is impossible. Rear view camera is mostly useless because it is located where rain and all the dirts prevent clear view. Navigation is not intuitive, either. Rain sensing wipers act weirdly and I never use it. Only good sides are a little briskier engine performance and a slightly better gas mileage than 2011 model. I am so much disappointed in Acura and will never buy Acura again."

I would buy this car again.

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Responsiveness, all around quality, inside and out"

Cons: "Wished it cost a little less."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned over 80 cars, trucks and RVs thus far. I would rate the MDX in the top 3. Great handling, well appointed interior, highway gas mileage in the upper 20's, and a very responsive 290 HP engine. When I get around to updating my book, "Forty Cars That Owned Me," the MDX will get star billing. And this vehicle is assembled in the USA!"

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Best all-around SUV in it's class

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, reliable, fuel efficient,ideal for families"

Cons: "smaller third row, learning curve for DASH screen"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2014 base model with AWD Could not have been happier. Test drove X5, RX350, Q7. The MDX gets high marks in every category. The fuel efficiency is excellent. I get 27-28 MPG on highway. The SH-AWD is top notch and the engine has good power. We feel safe and controlled in even the worst weather Michigan has to offer. The seats are incredibly comfortable. The car syncs with our iphones so we did not get the Tech package. The rear camera does the job. Did not want the bells and whistles that the higher trim/other SUVS may offer."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very Disappointed

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Comfortable 8 way seats...that's it"

Cons: "too many to list"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I only had the vehicle a few weeks before the computer began going haywire. Service reset it and told me that a computer update was on the way. Today I got the update notice and it is only for the nav, radio and phone!?? The headlights Blind all oncoming traffic so if you love being flashed by every oncoming car...this one is for you. The voice commands were obviously programmed by an non-English speaking person as they are not intuitive at all. The computer repeats needless phrases to you on startup like the name of the first person on your phone list. Buyer's Remorse on this vehicle for sure. Very disappointed with Acura! I owned a Honda and thought this would be a step up. It is a step down in quality and a step up in price! I wish I could get out of this lease without losing a bundle of cash but that is not in the case."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Falls short in too many areas

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Gas mileage"

Cons: "Basically, everything other than the gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I am rather disappointed in this vehicle, because the Acura brand is so well known for quality across the board. This vehicle seems very light weight and I feel every bump. The handling is poor.The transmission is complete mush, and engine power is not what it should be for this vehicle. Even the tires are rather narrow for a vehicle like this. The brakes are not adequate - at all!Visibility is poor. The seats have zero lateral support. The GPS is poor. The overall quality is, frankly, lacking. This is not even close to being an SUV, so I guess calling it a 'crossover suv' is almost reasonable. I willmention one good point - the gas mileage. To be honest, I should have taken a MUCH longer test drive in this vehicle. I have had many SUVs over the years and they were all far better than this. I have driven earlier model MDX's and they were better than this new model."

30 people out of 66 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.