Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2008 Acura MDX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 260 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Good Entry Level in Luxury for Families

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride, nice interior, maintains value"

Cons: "gas mileage,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I enjoy this car. It rides very well and we have had no issues with the engine. However the 'plastic' like covers on the edge of the door between the front and back do have a tendency to warp leading to a vibration. Acura has since redesigned the car and have omitted this. The gas mileage is okay - nothing great. However it is a conservative number, and we seem to usually exceed what is expected."

Will believe the one bad review over all the good

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Car stalled while driving on freeway

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Nice looking car"

Cons: "Stalled while driving on freeway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I was driving on freeway - 60 mph going down hill. Instead of accelerating speed naturally due to going down the hill, the car started DECELERATING, and I had my foot on the accelerator pedal but it was slowing down and all the cars around me were zooming by. The accelerator pedal was not working. By some grace of god I was able to get off the freeway. I had my kids with me. Then the car completely stalled at the light. No warning lights ever came on. Acura dealership said that it was a faulty fuel pump. The car was only 3 years old and I had bought it 5 months prior from the same dealership with clean car fax. No issues before to indicate this may happen. Sold car back to dealership at loss. Although it was under warranty, I was not going to be a guinea pig if the same type of fuel pump they installed, went out again, and put my family in a similar situation."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great midsize SUV

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looks and perfect for big families."

Cons: "My wife doesn't let me drive it enough."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First, I really like the styling of the MDX. It has an understated luxury look without being too flashy. The interior is comfortable with seating for seven, which is great for our family of 6. The cargo area with the third row seat up appears small, but there is more room back there than you think. With the third row folded down, the cargo area is especially roomy. The best part is driving and parking. Many of our friends have suburbans, and they have a difficult time parking them - you see them backing in and out trying to fit into the spaces, but with the Acura, we have all of the passenger room without all the wasted space of the full size SUV. Lastly, everyone knows Hondas and Acuras are basically bulletproof, so even at 100,000 miles, it barely feels broken in. We highly recommend this vehicle."

Most happy with our choice

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,166

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"comfortable for long trips as well as city driving. Its higher seating gives us a better feel for traffic. it has all the bells and whistles for our driving habbits and most of all the back-up camera is a great feature."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

MDX is amazing

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, Value, Value"

Cons: "Rear Seating not best for large people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had 4 SUVs between myself and my wife. I have had GM, Mercedes and Audi. The Acura MDX is my favorite. Its is a 2011 and I have 80000 miles in less than 3 years. The maintenance is non-existent other than oil changes. Great handling, great economy and it looks amazing."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I love the car.

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing I would like is something that tells me what direction I am going."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Extremely good-looking SUV and comfortable ride

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Large load capacity; comfortable"

Cons: "Hard to steer; easy to over-correct; blindspots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Steering is slightly too tight and over-correcting a problem. Loud road noise on Interstate Highways. Otherwise, a great vehicle!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Thanks for SH AWD

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice SUV that you can depend on during snowy icy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own 2 2007 Acura MDX. One with sport package and the other one (wife) with Entertainment package (Rear DVD for our kid). I do have to go to work during ice storm or snowy days in Arkansas. This SUV grip the road during ice storm. Adjust my speed to road condition/ drive slower just fine without chain on the wheels during ice storm."

I'm 66, owned over 10 new cars, this is the best,

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, great sound system."

Cons: "Uses only premium gas,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is by far the best car I've owned. The only down sides are :1)the road noise is a little loud, but normally with a radio on or with conversion it isn't noticeable. 2)the gas gauge is partially hidden behind the steering wheel, so when it's low you have to lean forward to see the gauge. Partly due to the adjustable steering wheel. 3) it uses only premium gas which is much higher than regular. However It rides great, it's a solid heavy vehicle , looks great, has plenty of room and is very comfortable. At 66, I have purchased more than 10 new cars, and this is only car I've kept for more than 3 years. I now have 163,000 miles on it and it is 7 years old and it's value us roughly $12000. Pretty good, and it gets 23 mpg on the highway"

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great car to haul the kids and their equipment.

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious, comfortable, affordable"

Cons: "transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is one of two cars I bought new in my life. I love it but have a few reservations. This car have never broken down, I maintain the Acura maintenance regimen. It is a wide car so parking in the garage is a bit challenging for me and my wife. I do not like its transmission. It shifts from 3rd to fourth a lot and is annoying. the third row is perfect for small kids. I wish Acura made an extended version of this car."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great automobile - was my wife's who died in Apri

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful car"

Cons: "None that I know of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All maintenance up to date including timing belt, plugs, water pump&wires New tires"

Love everything about it - EXCEPT blind spot

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Love everything about this vehicle - handles great - comfortable for long trips or buzzing around town. Have loaded this with cargo for college trips, garden supplies and its really functional. When I purchased the car, they offered a really pricey package that included a blind spot indicator. I thought it was ridiculous and now I wish I had gotten it. You have to really watch it as I have had more than a few close calls with the blind spot on both sides of the vehicle."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever!!

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, sh-awd, ELS sound system"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No problems so far."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, safe, premium style, versatile"

Cons: "None so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

""The car is roomy and versatile. The seats are so comfortable for long drives. We did a four hour drive with four adults and one car seat toddler and everyone was exceptionally comfy. Independant climate controls in the back helped with that as well. The premium sound system is excellent. Love the auto hatch, and personalized settings. Have not used the third row seat yet, but glad it's there for when we need it. The ride is aggressive and solid, grips the road, but fast. Sports mode is fun in the mountains and open roads and helpful in sketchy, fast moving traffic. It's just an all around fun car to drive, powerful, safe for my toddler, and so versatile. The leather and premium interior design don't hurt either. My wife and I both love this car.""

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun, comfortable car that spoils you

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, safe, premium interior, great sound."

Cons: "So far, we don't have any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is roomy and versatile. The seats are so comfortable for long drives. We did a four hour drive with four adults and one car seat toddler and everyone was exceptionally comfy. Independant climate controls in the back helped with that as well. The premium sound system is excellent. Love the auto hatch, and personalized settings. Have not used the third row seat yet, but glad it's there for when we need it. The ride is agressive and solid, grips the road, but fast. Sports mode is fun in the mountains and open roads and helpful in sketchy, fast moving traffic. It's just an all around fun car to drive, powerful, safe for my toddler, and so versatile. The leather and premium interior design don't hurt either. My wife and I both love this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun, comfortable car that spoils you

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, safe, premium interior, great sound."

Cons: "So far, we don't have any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is roomy and versatile. The seats are so comfortable for long drives. We did a four hour drive with four adults and one car seat toddler and everyone was exceptionally comfy. Independant climate controls in the back helped with that as well. The premium sound system is excellent. Love the auto hatch, and personalized settings. Have not used the third row seat yet, but glad it's there for when we need it. The ride is agressive and solid, grips the road, but fast. Sports mode is fun in the mountains and open roads and helpful in sketchy, fast moving traffic. It's just an all around fun car to drive, powerful, safe for my toddler, and so versatile. The leather and premium interior design don't hurt either. My wife and I both love this car."

Fun, comfortable car that spoils you

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, safe, premium interior, great sound."

Cons: "So far, we don't have any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is roomy and versatile. The seats are so comfortable for long drives. We did a four hour drive with four adults and one car seat toddler and everyone was exceptionally comfy. Independant climate controls in the back helped with that as well. The premium sound system is excellent. Love the auto hatch, and personalized settings. Have not used the third row seat yet, but glad it's there for when we need it. The ride is agressive and solid, grips the road, but fast. Sports mode is fun in the mountains and open roads and helpful in sketchy, fast moving traffic. It's just an all around fun car to drive, powerful, safe for my toddler, and so versatile. The leather and premium interior design don't hurt either. My wife and I both love this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

third MDX- Acura has lost my business

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "options are two or three to get everything"

Cons: "quality gone, fuel economy terrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Engine performance same yet Fuel economy down to 15 MPG, cabin noise, suspension did not last, quality down, Not what I was used to from Acura"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent handling"

Cons: "Slight wind noise in door seal at highway speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling, decent mileage for a heavy 4WD vehicle. Corners very good and brakes sure & steady."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Fantastic SUV for the price

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives/corners well, comfortable, good in snow"

Cons: "3rd row nice but better for kids on long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I looked at every mid-to-large luxury SUV and just couldn't justify buying anything other than this given its great price point and better reliability and resale than most others. But it's not just a good deal, it drives great. Second row seats are comfy and even recline, which is nice on longer drives. Doesn't feel like a big vehicle at all, and is even easy to park. I lived in Vienna, Austria with my MDX and it was easy to park in the small city spots and great in the mountains/winters. Even my wife loved to drive it... didn't seem big to her, either. And the handling is great at higher speeds. Very solid and corners well with no noticable roll/sway at all (in part because of how the SH-AWD speeds up the outside rear wheel to push you through turns). Fun to drive. I honestly looked forward to the days I got to drive to work/errands back when I lived in Vieanna and usually took the metro. The SH-AWD system is as good as it gets, short of maybe a Land Rover for ultimate off-roading. Only negative that I have is I wish third row was easier to access (e.g. if the second row slid forward like in the 2014 redesigned model) and had an inch or two more leg room. Still, my mother and father-in-law each sat back there for drives of up to an hour and were OK. But I'm 6'3 so it wouldn't have worked for me. If gave it 10 stars given it's price. Were we comparing it to SUVs costing $20,000 more then I would have to give it 9 stars, as of course those are even nicer inside with more advanced extra features. But, I really have no complaints other than I wish I fit in the third row... but I got that for our kids/thier friends anyway so I can't complain much."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Ride I ever had.

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "DVD player, Navigation, does well in snow and ice"

Cons: "The sunroof rattles a little."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family and I love the MDX. It drove awesome in the snow and ice. My kids love the dvd player. I would recommend this ride to everyone with kids."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great family car and mountain driving

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun driving and safe"

Cons: "I have yet to hit the higher MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Feels sporty yet extremely safe and reliable. My family of 4 and all the kids friends fit in safely and it doesn't matter where we go, we have a blast with either the audio system or the DVD entertainment. Love my MDX!!"

6th Acura (1st Acura SUV)

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice blend of sport performance / suv"

Cons: "Loud (road noise) and disappointing gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2012 Acura MDX rides well, (but loud) and it's well made. No mechanical problems to report yet. The gas mileage is disappointing, but then again it wasn't my highest priority when I bought it. The controls are clustered so tight on the center console (Tech model) that you almost have to be at a stop to be able to use them, or are forced use the voice command. Those are my only complaints. This is my 6th Acura (1st Acura SUV) and they have all held up very well as long as you follow the scheduled maintenance. Very nice re-sale value to report, if you take care of them !!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Poor purchase.

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives very good!"

Cons: "Lot of things wrong with SUV. Suspension prob ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Many expensive repairs needed. Struts, rear suspension, worn tires from suspension problems. Nav. System went out at 53k miles. Airbag sensors went out @ same. More luxury more to go wrong. Not a car to buy unless you have deep pockets."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Can't imagine having another other car

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Leather, great turning radius (handles like a car)"

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only con is the hefty price tag, but I would certainly purchase a new one when I buy another car. It is so comfortable and I feel so safe every time I drive it. I love that I have room for everything and have the 3rd row seating if needed. The gas mileage is decent for an SUV too (I average about 18 miles/gallon). It handles great in all types of weather. I would definitely recommend it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura MDX near Honolulu. See local deals