Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2005 Acura MDX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 398 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

The best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for almost 10 years. It has proven to be worth every penny. I now have almost 180000 miles and still drives like a dream. I would definitely purchase another one."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned bar none.

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many other brands and styles of vehicles and this Acura MDX is tops in almost every category.The car has great utility value in addition to being dependable, comfortable and easy to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

solid, great SUV. Holds its value very well.

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This car has only needed regular maintenance

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "The car is great drives like an acura"

Cons: "missing 2 ac vent and driver side running board"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car drives just like ot should for this mileage."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Not a problem since day one

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "luxury full loaded without expending extra $$"

Cons: "interior materials a little not to level"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I own this truck new 3 miles, for repairs, only ones i'm being at the dealer for a switch recall, an they told me i have a problem with my transmission the installed a new one (under warranty) but I never notice the problem. I have one concern, when the truck is loaded with 7 passengers is kind of difficult try to stop the truck fast enough do it. Also always i believe this truck is better loaded that empty. Need better brakes that why I change the rotors for drilled and ventilated much better."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, great in snow, comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this MDX in 2008. Certified from an Acura dealer. I have had it 6 and a half years and put almost 70,000 miles on it. I always keep up with oil changes and other simple maintenance. I have needed new tires and new brakes, that is it! We just drove it over 600 miles for a vacation this year. I have to drive in the snow for my job and it is great in the snow. From past experience I have learned just cause a car/suv claims to be good in snow does not mean it is true. The MDX awd does the job. I hope to get a new car next year. I have researched other suvs but I always come back to the MDX as the best for its price."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Can't Imagine Better

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 2002 Acura MDX for nearly three years. It has just over 130,000 miles on it, but we've never had any trouble at all with it. We have done regular maintenance, but the vehicle has never needed a repair. It has never struggled, stalled, had funny noises, etc. It's comfortable. It looks great and most people assume it's much newer. The seats are comfortable and it doesn't get too tight when the third row is in use. My wife and I both love driving it and it's great for a family while looking sharp. Couldn't imagine a better SUV for our needs."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very Good Value Indeed

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great visibility, highly reliable, max value too."

Cons: "18 mpg avg, 3rd row seat is next to useless"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this used MDX in 2005 with 30k miles. It now has 200k miles and still has the original (not rebuilt) transmission. This seems unusual given all the tranny problems I read about with the MDX. The largest repair bill I've had over all these miles is $1,400 and that included timing belt replacement. One other time I spend $1,300 for a rear differential and some other bits, but nothing that was unreasonable. On the negative side the 2nd row seats are not very comfortable and the 3rd row... unless you are 5 yrs old forget about sitting back there. They should ditch that seat and make the 2nd row better. Brakes sometimes feel a bit soft and I am told this is "normal". I'd prefer a bit more resistance when firmly braking. Overall, this thing simply runs like a champ; very reliable and I am "chuffed to bits" as my British friends would say about owning this vehicle."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

1 $600 repair, 1 set of brakes

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "whole car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, expensive to buy, cheap to own"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"new trans w/waranty less than 2yrs. ago new tires new batery"

Great car and value even though expensive when new

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality materials, paint, engine, body design"

Cons: "premium gas 14 MPG city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We had a 2002 MDX and liked it so much in spite of the automatic transmission problem we bought a new one in 2006. It now has 94,000 miles and has had few minor issues but overall this car is so good my wife will not let go of it. It is garaged at home and work and I have changed the oil every 3500 in the engine along with the transmission every 30,000 miles. So far so good. I have a 2014 Avalon and I seriously think the Acura engine sounds better. Dealer service has been outstanding with quite a bit of good will provided by them and Acura. The handled the transmission issue in the old car painlessly and very honestly. I don't like having to use premium gas at 14 mpg city and never more than 21 highway but overall but it has been a small price to pay considering I think this engine will run forever. Resale is tremendous also. I think there is an MDX cult out there keeping the prices up."

18 people out of 28 found this review helpful

I still love my MDX

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good looking, good on snow, nice interior"

Cons: "big in the garage with another SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my MDX new and had to order it because they were so new and so popular, you couldn't just buy one off the lot. It is great on snow, has a very comfortable interior, excellent leg room and interior height (my dad is 6'5" and my husband is 6'3"). I will drive it until it dies. It is 12 years old and has some door dings, but I still love it."

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and easy to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the Accura MDX very roomy and comfortable"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

hand space b/w seat & console small if item falls

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABILITY and status = a good luxury car"

Cons: "console/side of seat = lack of space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you drop your phone, a pen, credit card, etc, in the space between the front car seats and the center console, it is almost impossible to retrieve the item. My son stuffs a towel in this area to prevent losing items in his Acura TL, I keep a long metal ruler in my car to "fish out" items that fall in my Acura MDX. Neither of us are large people and we can't get our hands between the console and seats. I can see a lipstick and pencil on the floor here and cannot get them. Please reconfigure this area."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've ever driven

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very reliable. When I tell people it has 318,000 miles they stop, look at me funny, and say, "You mean 218,000?" Nope. 318,000 miles!!! I bought my mdx used in 2005 with 128,000 miles on it. Besides the cheap air vents, I have no complaints! I have replaced the timing belts and a few other belts that need to be replaced with regular maintenance. I had a few issues with the a/c, but other than that, this car is FANTASTIC!!"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great space, power, handling

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious, good accleration and handling, intuitive"

Cons: "Size and weight make gas mileage suboptimal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Spacious;intuitive interior systems, good power and handling for size"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fantastic car in every way!!!

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new in 2006. We've taken several 1000 mile trips. The car is comfortable and rides well. Mileage on freeway trips is 20-25 mph. Mileage around town is not so good, 14-17, but I still love the car. The way you can change the seating comes in very handy when transporting larger purchases and shopping."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, versatility, comfortable ride."

Cons: "Vent director knobs; gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car new in 2001. Regular scheduled maintenance and replacement of wear parts (brake pads), but NO significant repairs until recent replacement of leaky radiator and valve adjustment. Averaged 67,000 miles per set of tires. Amazing. Now the transmission is giving clear signals that it has had it. I'll probably replace--even at 267,000 miles. The car is that good. Only things that made me grumble were minor interior failures (directional flow for a/c system vents) that cost more to replace than they were worth, and I wish the mileage was better (17/21). But for a car this size, probably as good as it gets. Unless I go to alternate fuel, my next car will be another MDX."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it since 2011,when it had 140K . No mechanical issues whatsoever. Feel safe when drive on highway, especially with children on board. However, it gets only 19MPG. Plan to keep a couple more years before trade-in."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "would like navigation system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 13 years it is still so comfortable. For long trips this is the vehicle to drive."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned and I have owned many.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy-comfortable-attractive-good mileage"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Car"

Best car I have ever owned. I will buy another.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car that just won't quit. Low maintenance . Just wish they had not changed body style."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car wwill not quit !!

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All wheel drive , dependable, Modren styling still"

Cons: "Preminum Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"215k miles and it still runs like new, same engine same trans, Changed the timing chain at 140k. this car is a tank, The wife had it for 85,00 miles no issues, first daughter took it to Lubbock Texas for 4 year while going to Texas Tech Univ. , she put 70,000 miles, Next daughter got her turn 4 years at Texas A&M Univ. she put 65,00o miles on it, Now I have it for a run around car. Without doubt the best car I have ever owned and still going strong today [ 04/2014 ]"

16 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great Family Car without compromising manhood

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the MDX in 11/2013. I previously had a 98 Nissan Pathfinder. My boys had gotten bigger and we need extra space for mor family and road trips. The 7 passenger seating was what I wanted but I didn't want to go bigger than a Pathfinder is size. I also wanted some luxury above what a newer Pathfinder offered. The MDX was the best purchase on a quick decesion. I sold my car on a weekend and needed a car within a few days. I feel in love with the MDX and it has not let me down. I took my boys and nephews snow tubing with my wife. Total of 7 passengers, 2 were adults. The ride was smooth cand comforatable while we manuvered through the snow. I never lost traction or control of the vehicle. I spent the better part of the northeast winter for 2013+2014 with this car and every day it has been a pleasure to drive it. If you are in the market for a goo reliable used vehicle for a family. This vehicle is it. I purchased this car cash for 13k with a 2 year 25k bumoer to bumper warranty. The vehicle had only 85k in miles and only one previous car owner. When I took the car to the Acura Dealer for a recall process the service person commended me on how good the condition of the vehicle was. I hope I can keep this vehicle for as long as I had my previous car which was almost 10 years."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This has been the best car I've ever owned.

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great to drive, plenty of room"

Cons: "no dealership closer than 100 miles to me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved owning this car. It has plenty of room for any cargo I would ever want to haul, room for 7 people and I feel very safe while driving it. It is rated as one of the safest cars on the road to drive because of the airbags and safety features. I owned a SUV before and if I made a sudden turn I felt top heavy. This car handles well in all situations. I would love to have another just like it!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura MDX near Honolulu. See local deals