Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2003 Acura MDX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 386 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Best SUV ever

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and easy to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the Accura MDX very roomy and comfortable"

hand space b/w seat & console small if item falls

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABILITY and status = a good luxury car"

Cons: "console/side of seat = lack of space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you drop your phone, a pen, credit card, etc, in the space between the front car seats and the center console, it is almost impossible to retrieve the item. My son stuffs a towel in this area to prevent losing items in his Acura TL, I keep a long metal ruler in my car to "fish out" items that fall in my Acura MDX. Neither of us are large people and we can't get our hands between the console and seats. I can see a lipstick and pencil on the floor here and cannot get them. Please reconfigure this area."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've ever driven

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very reliable. When I tell people it has 318,000 miles they stop, look at me funny, and say, "You mean 218,000?" Nope. 318,000 miles!!! I bought my mdx used in 2005 with 128,000 miles on it. Besides the cheap air vents, I have no complaints! I have replaced the timing belts and a few other belts that need to be replaced with regular maintenance. I had a few issues with the a/c, but other than that, this car is FANTASTIC!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great space, power, handling

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious, good accleration and handling, intuitive"

Cons: "Size and weight make gas mileage suboptimal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Spacious;intuitive interior systems, good power and handling for size"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fantastic car in every way!!!

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new in 2006. We've taken several 1000 mile trips. The car is comfortable and rides well. Mileage on freeway trips is 20-25 mph. Mileage around town is not so good, 14-17, but I still love the car. The way you can change the seating comes in very handy when transporting larger purchases and shopping."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, versatility, comfortable ride."

Cons: "Vent director knobs; gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car new in 2001. Regular scheduled maintenance and replacement of wear parts (brake pads), but NO significant repairs until recent replacement of leaky radiator and valve adjustment. Averaged 67,000 miles per set of tires. Amazing. Now the transmission is giving clear signals that it has had it. I'll probably replace--even at 267,000 miles. The car is that good. Only things that made me grumble were minor interior failures (directional flow for a/c system vents) that cost more to replace than they were worth, and I wish the mileage was better (17/21). But for a car this size, probably as good as it gets. Unless I go to alternate fuel, my next car will be another MDX."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it since 2011,when it had 140K . No mechanical issues whatsoever. Feel safe when drive on highway, especially with children on board. However, it gets only 19MPG. Plan to keep a couple more years before trade-in."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "would like navigation system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 13 years it is still so comfortable. For long trips this is the vehicle to drive."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned and I have owned many.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy-comfortable-attractive-good mileage"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Car"

Best car I have ever owned. I will buy another.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car that just won't quit. Low maintenance . Just wish they had not changed body style."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This car wwill not quit !!

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All wheel drive , dependable, Modren styling still"

Cons: "Preminum Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"215k miles and it still runs like new, same engine same trans, Changed the timing chain at 140k. this car is a tank, The wife had it for 85,00 miles no issues, first daughter took it to Lubbock Texas for 4 year while going to Texas Tech Univ. , she put 70,000 miles, Next daughter got her turn 4 years at Texas A&M Univ. she put 65,00o miles on it, Now I have it for a run around car. Without doubt the best car I have ever owned and still going strong today [ 04/2014 ]"

16 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great Family Car without compromising manhood

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the MDX in 11/2013. I previously had a 98 Nissan Pathfinder. My boys had gotten bigger and we need extra space for mor family and road trips. The 7 passenger seating was what I wanted but I didn't want to go bigger than a Pathfinder is size. I also wanted some luxury above what a newer Pathfinder offered. The MDX was the best purchase on a quick decesion. I sold my car on a weekend and needed a car within a few days. I feel in love with the MDX and it has not let me down. I took my boys and nephews snow tubing with my wife. Total of 7 passengers, 2 were adults. The ride was smooth cand comforatable while we manuvered through the snow. I never lost traction or control of the vehicle. I spent the better part of the northeast winter for 2013+2014 with this car and every day it has been a pleasure to drive it. If you are in the market for a goo reliable used vehicle for a family. This vehicle is it. I purchased this car cash for 13k with a 2 year 25k bumoer to bumper warranty. The vehicle had only 85k in miles and only one previous car owner. When I took the car to the Acura Dealer for a recall process the service person commended me on how good the condition of the vehicle was. I hope I can keep this vehicle for as long as I had my previous car which was almost 10 years."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This has been the best car I've ever owned.

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great to drive, plenty of room"

Cons: "no dealership closer than 100 miles to me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved owning this car. It has plenty of room for any cargo I would ever want to haul, room for 7 people and I feel very safe while driving it. It is rated as one of the safest cars on the road to drive because of the airbags and safety features. I owned a SUV before and if I made a sudden turn I felt top heavy. This car handles well in all situations. I would love to have another just like it!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very good SUV

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best SUV around"

very good condition

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,540

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "$17,500"

Cons: "very good condition outside & inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"very good condition change oil&oil filter every 3,500 mil because life times free oil change and change tranmission fluid every 7,000. highway millet"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Mediocre at best

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great interior design, drivertrain and handling"

Cons: "electronics are horrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Like the looks and design inside and out, but the electronics have been horrible. The DVD, Nav and radio and door locks have all broke over the 10 years of ownership. Its time for a new vehicle for the wife and thinking Infinity QX60 over the new MDX."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned!!

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best navigation system of all including MBZ, BMW"

Cons: "not great mileage on older vehicle,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new and was concerned for safety and size as my oldest was 14 and was 6' 4", still growing and about to learn to drive. My second was five years younger, tall, and my husband was 6' 2" (big family). I work and for many years drove all over Southern CA. This car accommodated 7 people often both kids and shorter adults. It has not given me any trouble and continues to purr along. Maintenance is minimal. The engine has always been able to outrun trucks getting on the freeway and drives like a sports car. Both boys learned to drive in it and it is now well worn on the outside but still looks great inside and the engine is great. My eldest son is 6' 8" and can still fit in it with no problems. I do not drive so much now, but am planning to trade it in for an RDX as I do not need the size any longer but believe in the line,"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great value

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I chose this model over lexus and I am glad. More features for my $. Spacious and very accommodating! Im looking in 2014 models now!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

up in the air

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "drives well, great motor"

Cons: "put a transmission in it (not cheap in a acura)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"i bought this vehicle with 76000 miles on it. loved the car handled great ran like a top. at 120,000 the transmisson went and cost me 3600 dollars with a 3 year warranty. at roughly 200000 miles the ignition went bad in it, the car would randomly shut off while driving it, no power brakes, no power steering. needless to say my wife was not impressed with this. it now has 220000 miles on it and still runs strong and drives well, from what i have heard this is not typical of the acura line but this was my expirience. wouldn't be my first choice but certainly not my last"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Keeps on Tickin'

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 237,115

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the truck, looks great clean, no major probs"

Cons: "its getting old and i'll have to part with it soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new in 2002 and I now have 237,000+ in 2014. I have changed the oil every 3,000 miles for 12 years and the truck has treated me well also. Aside from a replacement trans, this car has been stellar. I would rebuy it!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best ever

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A pleasure to drive"

Cons: "Third row a bit small for 2 adults,great for kids"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best car I ever owned or drove. While it is a SUV, it rides like a luxury sedan.I'm 6'2" and over 200lbs and yet there is ample space and headroom. Plenty of cargo space and comfortably sits 5. Third row for 2 passengers a bit small for adults but great for kids,."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This car's my love but can't come w/ me 2 Europe

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car - well cared for - one owner"

Cons: "scratch on passengers side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"well serviced MDX by Acura dealer. 2006 was last year of this great model before they changed the size and look. Full luxury SUV, powerful, good in snow, mud, on beach. Hauls children, dogs, furniture. Is true multipurpose luxury ride going from daily chores to elegant soirees. I don't want to let her go, yet don't want her to sit for months"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wow. Just wow.

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great engine, bulletproof and strong"

Cons: "Not the prettiest vehicle, seat warmers suck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine with 140k miles on it and am nearing 200k. It needed a valve adjustment and new struts in the last 20k miles, but since then this thing still runs like new. Seats show some wear, driver seat warmer didn't work when we bought it (and broke again since we fixed it). Nav system only works partially but I use my phone anyway.Jumps off the line if you need it to, rides super smooth. No head turner, but it just keeps on running SUPER smooth. Sound system rocks."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Most comfortable ride with smooth handling

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "most comfortable ride"

Cons: "fuel economy could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle used with 58k miles on it. Currently it has 178000 and going strong. I've been consistent with oil changes and probably could have been more diligent with manufacture recommended tune-ups .... Still a great runner that glides down the road with ease. I particularly like the quick acceleration when needed in a pinch. I highly recommend."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

new trans,tires ,paint,shocks&struts,updated gps,g

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"garaged ,mostly highway miles,very clean&well maintained,new trans,tires, paint,shocks&struts,updated GPS"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura MDX near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details